New Albany Independence Day Information

New Albany Chamber of Commerce Community Events Chair Hans Schell has announced the three grand marshals of this year’s Independence Day Parade, which carries the theme “Honoring Frontline Heroes.”

“Our committee unanimously chose this theme in recognition of the many frontline workers who worked tirelessly throughout the pandemic,” shared Schell.

Representing all healthcare workers is Diane Doucette, President, Mount Carmel New Albany; representing all police officers is New Albany Police Chief Greg Jones; and representing all firefighters is Plain Township Fire Chief Jack Rupp.

Mayor Sloan Spalding said he was pleased with the choice of the parade’s theme and who the grand marshals will represent.

“What a great opportunity for us to thank all the frontline workers in New Albany who are keeping our community safe,” Mayor Spalding said.

The parade will start on Saturday, July 3 at 11:00am at the New Albany Primary School and end at the Church of the Resurrection. Parade awards will be presented for Best Parade Theme, Best Community Spirit and Most Patriotic. Rob Yanok and NBC4 television journalist Bob Nunnally are this year’s parade hosts and emcees. Because the parade will travel via Dublin-Granville Road (not Market Street as in previous years), the grandstand will be located at the top of the limestone steps just north of Raines Crossing at Rose Run Park. You can view the parade route by clicking here.

The festival will take place later in the day Saturday from 6:00 p.m.–9:45 p.m. on the green space at New Albany Middle School, 6600 E. Dublin Granville Road. This free, family-friendly event features The Conspiracy Theory band, kids’ activities, bounce houses, ice sculpture demonstration, caricature artists, The Beauty Bus, costume characters and more! Food and beverages will be available for purchase. Foods trucks registered so far include Checker Mini Donuts, Cheesy Truck, Chilljoy Frozen Treatery, Dirty Franks, Happy Dog Pizza, Johnson’s Ice Cream, Lynettes BBQ, and Tortilla Street Food.

Fireworks presented by the City of New Albany will start at approximately 10:00 p.m. and are best viewed from the areas around the school campus and Rose Run Park. Saturday’s activities are rain or shine; however, the rain date for the fireworks will be Sunday, July 4 at 10:00 p.m. if necessary.

The Chamber’s Community Events committee includes Tiffany Fry, Abe Jacobs, Ron Kendle, Jason Milburn, Brian Minier, Hans Schell, Bob Walters, Marla Walters, Victor Wilson, and Rob Yanok. Visit to see the parade route, register a parade entry, and learn how to be a sponsor or volunteer at this year’s event.